This is the debut album from UK blues sensation Rebecca Downes. The West Midlands-based songstress has now established herself as one of the star attractions amongst the new vanguard of blues performers in the UK, with her unique and powerful voice. Rebecca s voice and performances have been, quite rightly, likened to such legendary artists as the full on Tina Turner, the bluesy feel of Etta James, and the raw power of Janis Joplin. 


Back To The Start is an impressive collection of original material, written by Rebecca with co-writer Steve Birkett and produced by Mark V Stuart (Magnum, Jim Lea, Diamond Head and more) of renowned Mad Hat Studios. Songs include the rockabilly shuffle of Basement Of My Heart , the Santana-esque/Jazzy tones of Fever in the Night, and the Southern Soul of When I'm Bad, plus nine other blues gems that will take the listener through an unforgettable musical experience. The lead track from the album, Basement Of My Heart, caught the attention of regional and specialist radio nationwide, fast placing her as one of the most vibrant and exciting 'ones to watch' amongst critics of the genre, and a firm favourite amongst her loyal legion of blues-loving fans. On the album, Rebecca is joined by some of the most highly regarded session musicians from both the UK and the US, who have previously provided the musical accompaniment for artists such as Ruby Turner, Climax Blues Band, Roy Wood's Big Band, Steve Gibbons, John Mayall's Bluesbreakers, Chuck Berry and many more. 


Track listing: 

1.  Messed Up
2.  When I'm Bad
3.  Fever In The Night 
4.  Round And Round
5.  Laughter From Her Room 
6.  Basement Of My Heart 
7.  Walking With Shadows 
8.  Back To The Start
9.  Better For Knowing You 
10.  Little Girl



Back To The Start - Signed CD Album

  • Purchasing directly from Rebecca via this platform enables us to offer you a personal service and will deliver the maximum return to those who created the music.


    All discs can be signed by Rebecca on request - please use the 'instructions' box above to request this. 


    We aim to despatch within 2-3 working days.  If we cannot meet this target (e.g. because we are away) we will email you to let you know.


    If your order has not been delivered within a week, please let us know because it has almost certainly gone missing.


    Any missing or damaged items will be replaced free of charge or a refund will be given.


    Rebecca Downes Music