BELIEVE Edition II is the second edition of the hugely successful second studio album from Rebecca Downes. Written by Rebecca with co-writer Steve Birkett and produced by Mark Viner Stuart (Magnum, Jim Lea, Diamond Head and more), Believe was the follow up to Rebecca's 2013 debut album Back To The Start. The album contained 12 original tracks and, in contrast to the first studio album, the recording band had a consistent line-up of Rebecca on lead vocals, Steve on backing vocals, guitars and keyboards, Rik Sandford on guitars, Rick Benton on keys and Hammond, Dan Clark on bass and Lloyd Daker on drums. There were guest appearances by Norman Beaker (guitar on the track Come With Me Baby) and Paul Gooderham (Blues Harmonica on Night Train and Long Long Time).


The album was once again recorded at M2 Studios, Coven, Wolverhampton, and produced by Mark Viner Stuart, engineered by Mark Viner Stuart and Sheena Sear (with additional input by Steve Birkett). It was mixed and mastered by Sheena Sear. By 2017 the original print had sold out, so an Edition II was released, again on Rebecca’s own label, with updated sleeve notes.


This revised edition also includes the first product of a collaboration between producer Chris Kimsey, whose credits include the Rolling Stones, Peter Perrett and Peter Frampton, and Rebecca and Steve. Rebecca and Steve met Chris at the end of 2016 and he was so impressed with their live performance and suite of candidate tracks for a new studio album that he agreed to act as Consulting Producer to help them develop and hone their material. One of the leading tracks from Believe, and very popular with audiences at live shows, is Sailing On A Pool Of Tears. Chris was invited to re-mix the track both to give a glimpse of what is to come and to allow a single release to mark the re-release of Believe as Edition II, which includes a full-length edition of the re-mixed version as a bonus track.


Rebecca Downes said: ‘As an independent artist it is wonderful to receive advice and encouragement from Chris, who has an a amazing track record as a producer and who continues to work with the biggest names in contemporary music. We are honoured to be working with him, flattered to receive his support and excited by the direction in which he is helping us go.’


Chris Kimsey said: ‘I get a huge kick out of working with talented new artists. I was struck by the quality of Rebecca and Steve’s existing portfolio and the power of their live performances. The new material moves them onto a new level as songwriters and it is hugely rewarding to play a part in their progression.'


"Something of a breath of fresh air. Emotional, authentic songs that speak to the listener." - Blues Magazine


"Stevie Lange & Maggie Bell watch out, there's a new player in town, she's the real deal and she's hungry." - Blues Matters Magazine


"Musically brilliant and vocally stunning and all from a young singer who one suspects could potentially be touching upon legend!" - Fireworks Magazine


"Blues, soul, jazz and rock are blended to perfection." - Vive Le Rock Magazine

Track listing: 

1.  Never Gonna Learn 
2.  Night Train
3.  It's That Easy 
4.  Sailing On A Pool Of Tears 
5.  Sweetness 
6.  1000 Years 
7.  Could Not Say No 
8.  Long Long Time 
9.  Momma's Got A Gun 
10. Salt Winds
11. Come With Me Baby 
12. Believe
Bonus Track: Sailing On A Pool Of Tears (Full Length Chris Kimsey Re-mix)



Believe (EDITION II) - Signed CD Album

  • Purchasing directly from Rebecca via this platform enables us to offer you a personal service and will deliver the maximum return to those who created the music.


    All discs can be signed by Rebecca on request - please use the 'instructions' box above to request this. 


    We aim to despatch within 2-3 working days.  If we cannot meet this target (e.g. because we are away) we will email you to let you know.


    If your order has not been delivered within a week, please let us know because it has almost certainly gone missing.


    Any missing or damaged items will be replaced free of charge or a refund will be given.


    Rebecca Downes Music